Ovechkin named NHL MVP

Right wing Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals edged Pittsburgh Penguins star center Sidney Crosby for the NHL's 2012-2013 Most Valuable Player award.

In voting by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, announced Saturday, Ovechkin garnered 1,090 points to the 1,058 of Crosby, claiming his third Hart Trophy in the past six seasons.

The Russian also won in 2008 and 2009. The margin of victory -- just 32 points from a record-setting 179 ballots cast -- represents the closest Hart Trophy race since Montreal's Jose Theodore and Calgary's Jarome Iginla finished in a virtual tie in 2002, the NHL said.

Ovechkin tallied 32 goals in 48 games, including 23 in his final 23 contests, to become the first three-time winner of the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the NHL's goal-scoring leader.

He also finished third in the League in points (56), first in power-play goals (16), first in power-play points (27) and first in shots on goal (220).

He led the Capitals to an 11-1-1 record in April and their fifth Southeast Division title in the last six years. He became the ninth player in league history to score 30 or more goals in each of his first eight seasons.

The NHL's usual awards gala was a casualty of the lockout that shortened the season, so the league opted to announce the award winners over two days during the Stanley Cup finals.

The Chicago Blackhawks, who won game one of the championship series, hosted the Boston Bruins in game two on Saturday night.

Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets won the Vezina Trophy as the top goalie, selected by NHL general managers.

Russia's Bobrovsky received 17 first-place votes and was named on 26 of 30 ballots for 110 points. His point tally doubled that of the second-place finisher, Sweden's Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, who collected 55 points from votes on 19 ballots.

Bobrovsky's .932 save percentage ranked second among NHL goaltenders and his 2.00 goals gainst average was sixth in the league. He postd a record of 21-11-6 with four shut-outs.

Center Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the top rookie.

Huberdeau edged Montreal Canadiens left wing Brendan Gallagher by fewer than 100 voting points (1,141 to 1,048) to become the first Panthers player to garner top rookie honors.

Huberdeau and Gallagher each received 54 first-place votes among the 179 ballots cast, with Huberdeau picking up slightly more support further down the ballot.

On Friday, Minnesota Wild goalie Josh Harding, who was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis late in 2012, won the Masterton Trophy given each year to the player best exemplifying the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Ottawa's Paul MacLean won the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year.

Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals takes a shot from near the blue line in the first period of Game Six of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals against the New York Rangers during the 2013 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs at Madison Square Garden on May 12, 2013 in New York City. Ovechkin edged Pittsburgh Penguins star center Sidney Crosby for the NHL's 2012-2013 Most Valuable Player award.

More news »