ICC Test Team of the Year 2012 announced

The ICC today announced its Test Team of the Year, as chosen by a

specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting

legend Clive Lloyd.

The announcement was made by the ICC Chief Executive, David

Richardson, at the media conference to announce the short-lists for

the LG ICC Awards 2012 which are due to be held in Colombo on 15

September 2012. The LG ICC Awards recognise the best international

players of the past 12 months.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Michael Clarke (Aus, captain)

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)

Matt Prior (Eng - wicketkeeper)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Vernon Philander (SA)

Dale Steyn (SA)

12th Man - AB de Villiers (SA)

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and South

Africa’s Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC Test Team

of the Year for the fifth successive year.

It is the third year in a row that South Africa’s Hashim Amla

and Jacques Kallis and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara feature

in the side, while England’s Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad

appear for the second year in a row.

Australia’s current captain, Michael Clarke, is named as

captain of the team.

ICC Chief Executive, David Richardson commented: "Those selected

can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving

of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era.

"The quality of the Test cricket played over the course of the year

has been exceptional and I did not envy the selectors in their task

of selecting the best. Congratulations to those who have made it.

They make a formidable team."

The Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Clive Lloyd,

added: "It is always tough to decide on the Test team with so many

worthy candidates to consider based on performances between 4

August 2011 to 6 August 2012. The team once again has a strong

batting line-up, while the bowlers are a tough combination of pace

and spin who could dismiss any line-up on any surface.

"The process of selection was a difficult one, with a lengthy

debate between the panel on all the top performances during the

voting period and various combinations were considered.

"The selectors did utilise a vast amount of statistics from the

period under observation, but we also took into account all other

factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation etc.

But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of

world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out.

"In the panel’s expert opinion, it has selected the best team

based on performances over the past 12 months."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Sri Lanka batsman Marvan

Attapatu, former England women’s captain Clare Connor, former

West Indies all-rounder Carl Hooper and Australia’s World Cup

winner Tom Moody. Statistics were available as a guide but were not

necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is one of two teams selected by the

ICC selection panel along with the ODI line-up which will be

announced a day before the LG ICC Awards.

The Selection Panel

The LG ICC Awards selection panel was charged with two main tasks:

providing a long-list of nominations to the 32 members of the

voting academy to cast their votes in the individual player award

categories and, using their experience, knowledge and appreciation

of the game, select the ICC Test and ODI teams.

Clive Lloyd (chairman)

One of the most recognisable and respected figures in world

cricket, Lloyd led West Indies to victories in the first two ICC

Cricket World Cups (in 1975 and 1979) and played a crucial role in

the overall success of the team during the 1970s and early 1980s.

As a big, hard-hitting, left-handed batsman, he scored 7,515 runs

in 110 Tests, including 19 centuries. In 87 ODIs, he scored 1,977

runs at an average of just under 40. He was also named Wisden

Cricketer of the Year in 1971. When he retired from playing, he

remained involved as a coach, manager and ICC match referee and is

currently the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Marvan Attapatu

A former Sri Lanka captain, he grew from a modest start to his Test

career to logging six double hundreds in his career. In all, he

played in 90 Tests scoring 5,502 runs with 16 hundreds at an

average of 39.02 and also played 268 One-Day Internationals with

8,529 runs with 11 hundreds at an average of 37.57. He formed a

successful opening pair with Sanath Jayasuriya in the 1990s, while

later he captained Sri Lanka from 2003 to 2006 in both Tests and

ODIs. Post retirement he has been involved with the game first as

Singapore coach and then as Sri Lanka's batting coach.

Clare Connor

A former England women’s captain, who led the side from 2000

to 2006 including the ICC Women’s World Cup in South Africa

2005. Connor batted right-handed and bowled left-arm spin and in

1999 she claimed a hat-trick against India. After her retirement

from international cricket, the Sussex player became a successful

TV commentator, while she was awarded an OBE in 2006 for her

services to women’s cricket. She is currently the Head of

Women’s Cricket at the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB)

and also chairs the ICC Women's Committee.

Carl Hooper

Hooper held the key to West Indies fortunes in late 1980s and 1990s

alongside Brian Lara. His 102 Tests fetched him 5,762 runs with 13

hundreds at an average of 36.46. He also played a key role with his

off-spin in an era dominated by pace, highlighted with his

career-haul of 114 wickets. His One-Day International career was

also a successful one. He scored 5,761 runs and picked up 193

wickets in 227 games. Hooper captained the West Indies at the ICC

Cricket World Cup 2003 and then retired from the game.

Tim Moody

ICC Cricket World Cup winner in 1987 and 1999, Moody was part of

the revival of Australian cricket especially in the One-Day

International format. His medium-pace and approach with the long

handle made him a ready fit in the limited-overs format. After a

back injury ended his playing career, he turned into a successful

coach. His success with Worcesteshire as coach led him to the Head

Coach role with the Sri Lanka side from 2005 to 2007, and he later

when on to coach Western Australia and Kings XI Punjab. Currently,

he is also pursuing a career as TV commentator and summariser.

Based on the period between 4 August 2011 and 6 August 2012, the LG

ICC Awards 2012 take into account performances by players and

officials in a remarkable period for the game.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its ninth year and this year

is being held in Colombo on 15 September. Previous ceremonies were

held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006),

Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bengaluru (2010).