Luck and Hurrell return against Cowboys

NZ Newswire Updated August 7, 2012, 6:46 pm

Veteran loose forward Micheal Luck and rookie centre Konrad Hurrell have been recalled in a reshuffled Warriors side for Saturday night's NRL match against North Queensland in Townsville.

Luck, 30, has been cleared after lasting 80 minutes for the Auckland Vulcans in the New South Wales Cup last Saturday in only his third match of the year.

Satisfied his left shoulder survived the test well Luck comes onto the interchange, while Hurrell is back after missing last Sunday's 45-4 defeat to Cronulla with a foot injury.

Their recalls coincide with the absence of standoff James Maloney and prop Ben Matulino, both injured in the Sharks rout.

Maloney is expected be out for one or two weeks with a medial ligament strain in his left knee and Matulino's likely to miss the rest of the regular season with a slight tear in the pectoral muscle on his left side.

"Both Lucky and the medical staff are satisfied he has come through last Saturday's match in good shape and Konrad is also good to go again," said Warriors coach Brian McClennan.

"Losing both Jimmy and Ben is a setback. They're obviously important players for us but that's what happens in this game and in this competition. Injuries are always a part of it and it's now up to others to make the most of the opportunity they've been given."

Carlos Tuimavave, 20, who made his NRL debut replacing Maloney on Sunday, has been named to start in the halves against the Cowboys.

With Hurrell returning to the centres, Ben Henry reverts to the second row and Elijah Taylor moves to loose forward.

Having lost Matulino, one of the NRL's best front rowers this season, McClennan has juggled his front row options by listing Jacob Lillyman and Sione Lousi as the starting props.

Not included yet is regular captain Simon Mannering, who's still recovering from an ankle sprain, so Manu Vatuvei will lead the side for the third week running.

Warriors: Kevin Locke, Bill Tupou, Lewis Brown, Konrad Hurrell, Manu Vatuvei (capt), Carlos Tuimavave, Shaun Johnson, Sione Lousi, Nathan Friend, Jacob Lillyman, Feleti Mateo, Ben Henry, Elijah Taylor. Interchange: Russell Packer, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Micheal Luck, Steve Rapira, Sam Lousi.

Newest First
Oldest First
Top Rated
Most Replies


  1. Sel11:45am Tuesday 07th August 2012 NZSTReport Abuse

    who realy cares,like laurie daley said years ago ,most nrl teams win there home games unless your the warriors,how true..and it looks like the under 20's are going the same way.. to many young so called guns in the warriors,need more aust..


League poll

Will the Warriors make the top eight this season?

Will the Warriors make the top eight this season?


League scoreboard



2015 NRL Premiership Season

5:00pm NZDT Sat, 28th March
7:30pm NZDT Sat, 28th March
9:30pm NZDT Sat, 28th March
2:00pm NZDT Sun, 29th March
4:00pm NZDT Sun, 29th March
9:00pm NZDT Mon, 30th March
6:00pm NZDT Fri, 3rd April
10:35pm NZDT Fri, 3rd April
7:30pm NZDT Sat, 4th April
9:30pm NZDT Sat, 4th April