Veteran loose forward Micheal Luck and rookie centre Konrad Hurrell have been recalled in a reshuffled Warriors side for Saturday night's NRL match against North Queensland in Townsville.

Luck, 30, has been cleared after lasting 80 minutes for the Auckland Vulcans in the New South Wales Cup last Saturday in only his third match of the year.

Satisfied his left shoulder survived the test well Luck comes onto the interchange, while Hurrell is back after missing last Sunday's 45-4 defeat to Cronulla with a foot injury.

Their recalls coincide with the absence of standoff James Maloney and prop Ben Matulino, both injured in the Sharks rout.

Maloney is expected be out for one or two weeks with a medial ligament strain in his left knee and Matulino's likely to miss the rest of the regular season with a slight tear in the pectoral muscle on his left side.

"Both Lucky and the medical staff are satisfied he has come through last Saturday's match in good shape and Konrad is also good to go again," said Warriors coach Brian McClennan.

"Losing both Jimmy and Ben is a setback. They're obviously important players for us but that's what happens in this game and in this competition. Injuries are always a part of it and it's now up to others to make the most of the opportunity they've been given."

Carlos Tuimavave, 20, who made his NRL debut replacing Maloney on Sunday, has been named to start in the halves against the Cowboys.

With Hurrell returning to the centres, Ben Henry reverts to the second row and Elijah Taylor moves to loose forward.

Having lost Matulino, one of the NRL's best front rowers this season, McClennan has juggled his front row options by listing Jacob Lillyman and Sione Lousi as the starting props.

Not included yet is regular captain Simon Mannering, who's still recovering from an ankle sprain, so Manu Vatuvei will lead the side for the third week running.

Warriors: Kevin Locke, Bill Tupou, Lewis Brown, Konrad Hurrell, Manu Vatuvei (capt), Carlos Tuimavave, Shaun Johnson, Sione Lousi, Nathan Friend, Jacob Lillyman, Feleti Mateo, Ben Henry, Elijah Taylor. Interchange: Russell Packer, Sebastine Ikahihifo, Micheal Luck, Steve Rapira, Sam Lousi.

NZ Newswire

More Sport News

Wentworth (United Kingdom) (AFP) - Sweden's Alex Noren came from seven shots off the pace in the final round to win the European PGA Championship by two shots here at Wentworth on Sunday.

London (AFP) - George Ford contributed 13 points as England warmed up for their two-Test tour of Argentina with a hard fought 28-14 victory over the Barbarians in a non-cap match at Twickenham on …