Wicketkeeper batsman Tom Latham is set to make his Twenty20 cricket debut for New Zealand after being named in the 12-strong squad for the series opener against the West Indies.

The 20-year-old Cantabrian is the only gloveman included, with the other option, BJ Watling, sitting out the match in Florida on Sunday (NZ time).

Latham's previous international experience is his three appearances in the one-day series against Zimbabwe in February.

All-rounders Kyle Mills and Andrew Ellis are the other members of the tour party who will miss the first of two T20 fixtures against the West Indies at Central Broward Regional Park.

New Zealand (from): Ross Taylor (capt), Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Ronnie Hira, Tom Latham, Nathan McCullum, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson.

NZ Newswire