There will be five medal events in the Olympic tennis competition - men's singles, women's singles, men's doubles, women's doubles and mixed doubles.

Each country is limited to a total of 12 athletes - six men and six women across all events, with a maximum of four in each singles competition and two teams in each doubles event.

From competitors entered into the singles or doubles, a maximum of two teams per country may compete in the mixed doubles event.

All matches are the best-of-three sets with the exception of the men's singles final, which is the best of five sets.

The tie-break will operate in every set except the final set in the singles and doubles competitions.

In the mixed doubles, the third set shall be played as a match tie-break, with the first to 10 points by a margin of two winning the match.

The tournament is a knockout format, with 16 seeded players in each singles event, eight seeded teams in the doubles and four seeded teams in the mixed doubles.

Seedings are determined by world rankings.

NZ Newswire

More Sport News